Longest ride of the year so far today

We have been watching the weather forecast with interest as we wanted to have a good ride today. We planned the ride and thought about doing it yesterday but a 24 hour bug and pouring rain put paid to that in a hurry.

This morning dawned fine and bright, the wind was not too hideous either so we left the house at around 11.30 this morning and headed off down to the Marriott’s Way and rode along it towards Aylsham.

At Freeland’s Corner we had to stop as I had a flat. There was the smallest thorn in the world stuck in my tyre so we swapped out the innertubes and, somehow lost my pack of Leeches, ready to stick patches. Happily, a nice man arrived with a spare patch and fixed the innertube for us so we had a spare for the rest of the trip. We never did find the leeches so we shall have to buy some new patches tomorrow.

We carried on along the Marriotts until we got to Whitwell Station, on the outskirts of Reepham and got off the trail there and then went across Reepham by road rather than ride around the Themelthorpe Loop. It’s narrow and muddy along there at the moment so we decided to give it a miss today. We picked up the Marriotts again at Reepham rail station (repurposed as a rather expensive cafe) and onwards towards Aylsham. From Reepham to Aylsham is a nice ride. Only 6 miles but Kenn was struggling. We did get to Aylsham and had a break at Tesco for a sandwich and some fruit juice.

Kenn wanted to get on the Bure Valley Railway to Wroxham but there are no trains until half term, mid February. I could have told him that if I’d realised that his plan was to ride to Aylsham and then train to Wroxham and meet me there. The Bure Valley path was great although Kenn was tired and was averaging only 6 or 7mph. At one point he got off and walked but was then moving at 1.8mph. I pointed out that by walking, we would take over 2 hours to get to Wroxham station and that he needed to get on his bike and pedal. I know it sounds horrible but it was getting cold by then. My sciatica was starting to let me know that it was getting cold and I needed to warm up again. We stopped about every 800 yards or so for Kenn to have a rest. I find this really really tiring but he did perk up when I pointed the railway station out to him.

I was aiming for the 16:24 train so I was very happy that we finally made it to the station with 4 minutes to spare. It was getting dark and really cold now and I didn’t want to have to sit and wait for 50 minutes for the next one. I did chivvy him down the ramps, under the bridge and up the other side. I turned my Garmin off at 28.01 miles and sat down to enjoy the 20 minute train ride to Norwich – Thorpe Station.

From the Station we rode, at a bit of a pace in my case, down Riverside and to the bottom on the hill on Barrack Street. I got a shift on as the car drivers along there give no quarter what so ever and all drive like idiots. Overtaking at pinch points as they cannot bear to be held up for 2 seconds. I gave one people carrier taxi a big old smack as he was so close. He took no notice and carried on. I assume from that, if he’d actually knocked me off my bike that he would have just kept right on driving. What a pillock. No respect for any other road users.

From Barrack Street we got on to the cyclepath alongside the base of the fly-over and then on the cyclepath to the bottom of the Norwich end of the Marriott’s again. Kenn decided to go slowly and passed the house key to me so I rode off and took my bike home. 4.01 miles to home. I put my bike in the living room and leashed up the dogs and walked back the way I’d ridden to meet Kenn. I met up with him at the top of the Marlpit Lane hill. The dogs didn’t get the greatest walk in the world but better than the one Kenn would have given them.

32.02 miles today at a 9.5mph average. Very slow but Kenn needs to work on his fitness.

So far this year 75.90 mi at 10.22 mi/h. 3.5% done already for my year’s goal but a mahoosive 76% of this month’s goal so I’m rather chuffed with that. I’m 15 miles in advance of my target curve so I can have tomorrow off.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Longest ride of the year so far today

  1. bribikes says:

    That is so awesome, look at you go!

Leave a Reply

