May already

Blogging has been put to one side while guitar practice and bike riding happens.

I set a goal for April, of 120 miles but was through that by mid month so moved the goal out to 175 miles but ended up on 201. I know that it’s not much in the grand scheme of things but, for April, it’s not too bad for me. I was pleased with it, plus I am riding the Planet X pro carbon again.

We’ve had entertainment changing an innertube with it, as the Conti’s that came as standard on the bike, are tight beyond belief and I can’t reseat the tyres without pinching the tube. As it turned out – after 4 goes – neither can Kenn, so we got onto the Wiggle site and bought a pair of Schwalbe Lugano tyres. We’ve had them in the past, know them to be good and a bit more flexible too. Now the PX has a Lugano on the front wheel. We can’t quite bring ourselves to do battle with the rear tyre at the moment after we broke 4 tyre levers with the front one. We will get it done before summer kicks in though.

The old Conti, has gone on Kenn’s Boardman. Waste not, want not, as they say. My Vision wheels have quite deep rims and the Conti’s are too snug a fit for my stupid fingers to deal with. Boardman has Mavic CP22s on, not so deep rims so much easier. Kenn is happy, he has ‘new’ tyres with only 1000 miles in them so he doesn’t need to worry about buying new ones just yet.

May has a target of 200 miles for the month. So far, I’m up to 63 miles, including 4.5 miles in high winds yesterday. The crosswind was really nasty on a short utility ride to a client’s house and then to meet Kenn from dialysis. I rode down the hill by the UEA, covering the brakes and not actually pedalling as I was worried about being blown across the road. I was not terribly happy about that at all.
Hoping for a nice round 20 today, leaving in a few minutes, after Kenn has changed a tube on his bike, had his breakfast, another coffee and generally faffed about. He’s been faffing for 45 minutes so far and I have to be at work at noon, showered and tidy. I also want to be back by 11 as the BBC says that it’s going all cloudy and that it will rain.

I’ve been riding out to Wymondham, Ketteringham way of late. I also took Kenn out for a ride to Salhouse, Woodbastwick, stopping for coffee at Ranworth Broad, then home via the Plumsteads, Thorpe End and back via the first 3 miles of the Marriotts. 29.77 miles. Had I known that, I’d have ridden around the block. He didn’t do too badly. He certainly didn’t moan for the last 25 miles of it, as he has done in the past.

Off out on the CXs in a min. Marriotts Way to Themelthorpe loop and back again. Looking forward to it.

R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

