Another couple of rides

Thursday morning dawned bright and sunny and, although it took me a couple of hours to get Kenn to the car with the bikes loaded into it, we went off for a pre-work ride. To be fair, we walked the dogs to the polling station, went and voted – not that it made any difference – finished dog walking and grabbed some breakfast first.

Themelthorpe Loop from Freelands

Themelthorpe Loop from Freeland’s Corner starting point

We drove up to Freelands Corner, on the Marriotts Way, parked and unloaded the bikes. I love the Marriotts Way, with its mostly flat trail, it’s wildlife and the general quiet of the place. Freelands Corner is the high point of the Marriotts, about 178′ above sea level. We weren’t terribly worried about altitude sickness 🙂 We rode along together on our CX bikes. Quite a few dog walkers about at that time of the morning but we knew that we’d missed the ‘rush’ that happens at around 7.30am where it’s dog walking everywhere you look on the Marriotts.

We rode up and past the Whitwell Station cafe and on to the Themelthorpe loop. It’s narrower and muddier up here. Kenn is not fond of it. I went on ahead, as you can’t ride two abreast in most places along here. At a field opening, I sat and waited for Kenn and watched a pair of Hares running and playing in the field. Kenn came along and we both sat and watched them until they went off through the hedge and out of sight. Then we carried on. The Loop was partially closed last year due to the badger activity there. There are bits of fencing around the setts now. I think that the council were worried about people falling down a badger hole and suing them. It’s a nice 5 miles round the loop to Reepham and, when it was a M & GN railway line, served Themelthorpe.

At the top of the loop the surface gets better for a while, then worse again and then better as you approach Reepham Station Cafe. We rode past there and then whipped through Reepham and back to Whitwell, some 1.5 miles away. Much faster by road but no wildlife to watch. At Whitwell, we parked the bikes up against one of the cafe picnic tables and Kenn went off to forage for coffee & cake. I had the coffee, he had a huge bit of carrot cake – it looked amazing for those of whom like carrot cake (I do but am losing weight and not messing it up by eating a massive bit of carrot cake – anyway, it’s weigh-in day on Sunday). I actually wasn’t hungry anyway.

From there it was a nice 7 miles back to the carpark. 18.9 miles ridden with an average of 10.2mph which is about right for riding along the trail there. I really like that ride, well I like riding on the Marriotts full stop.

Yesterday (8/5/15) Kenn was at dialysis and I left the house a smidge later than I really meant to. I wasn’t sure where I was riding but thought that I would make it up as I went along. I headed off down Bluebell, more out of habit than anything else.

Backwards Intwood to Hospital

From there I went right at the lights and stopped very soon after as I managed to swallow a fly and it tried to fight back. Coughing and hacking, I managed to get a good glug of water while standing on the pavement, bike still between my knees. Horrible, horrible, horrible. How many calories in a fly anyway.
I rode up the hill and then turned up Keswick Road and headed off to Intwood & then East Carleton, past East Carleton Manor. I found that I was doing a favourite ride but in reverse and carried on to the Ketteringham Crossroads, where, after a quick look at my watch, I decided that heading right, rather than left, would be better. Had I gone left, I could have gone to Ketteringham and then popped out on the old Norwich Road near Kett’s Oak but I didn’t have the time. I went right and headed off for the A11/A47 junction as just before it, is a tight left hand bend where if you go up onto the pavement, there is a bridge over the A47.

You can only ride a bit of the way up the bridge, then it becomes wide steps but with a flat bit, to the left hand side, for ease of pushing your bike along. Somebody thought about this bridge. The steps are fine in road cleats, except for the one checkerplate step that each side has. One on the way up, one on the way down again. Fine in the dry, very slippery in the wet. Nice and dry today so not a bother. Once down the other side, it brings you back into Cringleford on Cantley Lane where I turned up the cyclepath, by the vets and then over the pedestrian/cycle crossing over the A11 and onto Roundhouse Way and off to the hospital.

It was a great ride. Just 10.7 miles in the sunshine, in a nice 44 minutes. I wished that I had started out earlier and gone further but never mind. Hoping for a nice ride on Sunday to break the 100 miles this month so far. Very windy out today with 20mph winds with gusts. I didn’t fancy riding back from Gt Yarmouth in it. Tomorrow though and we are looking forward to it.

586 miles done this year so over 25% of my target. Nearly 94 miles this month so pretty happy with that. I might even go and do a little leg turner later on. Or I might go and have a long walk instead. Who knows.
R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

