6 months since last blog and a lot has happened

Oh where to start!

I still have my beloved Planet X Pro Carbon and I still have lovely Eric the PX CX bike. Both have done sterling work over the summer and autumn. My 2000 mile goal has been smushed and I am on my way to 2500, currently 2300 miles and change in to that. Garmin connect is being a pain in the situpon today and won’t upload the 7 miles to the Sausage Shop and back.

Better start catching up. On the 1st January this year, I weighed myself at a hideous 90kg and sought to do something a bit radical about that. 3 months of Exante Diet ( a VLCD – not recommended if you want to ride your bike a lot but it got me through the colder months) followed by Slimming World, which is more carby and bike friendly, then joining a gym now sees me at a much more sensible 67kg. People have congratulated me on my “new body”. Those who know me will tell you that it’s my ‘old’ body and I’ve got it back and it’s staying back. I still follow Slimming World but tweak it a bit. For instance, I have a big mug of curried butternut squash soup in front of me. Slimming World free food. However, I have been dunking a nice big bit of French Stick into it, definitely a few Syns but such is life. I had a chocolate biscuit earlier too. Not feeling any fatter so it’s all good.

Next bit of news. For my Norwich friends, who have known me forever, they know that half way up the A140 the map clearly says “Here Be Dragons”, right next to the real life sign that says ‘Suffolk’. For people who know me from other places than Norwich, you’ll all know about my insatiable wanderlust so ignore the ‘Here be Dragons’ bit as exploring bits of the world where there is a risk of being eaten, just adds to the fun.

We now live, 50 yards from the sea in Felixstowe. It’s fantastic. We go to the beach every day. The town is just a 20 minute walk away – along the beach, or Prom if the tide is in (or up the Sea Road if the tide is ‘really’ in). There are good shops, cafes, a cinema, decent branch of Specsavers, a Lidl and a jolly good bike shop. What’s not to like. We have been exploring for the last 8 weeks now and the bikes have been getting a workout.

NewbourneGlasshouse

I ride to meet Kenn from Dialysis – 11.5 miles to Ipswich, give or take. 16 the other day as I missed a turning and had a navigational adventure. I wasn’t supposed to visit Newbourne, but I did. More hills here. Scarier than dragons for a girl from the flatlands. We get off road and everything when we get lost find new and interesting, hitherto unthought of routes.

IMG_0224

Some days the sun even shines. It’s been unseasonably warm of late,

So far we have discovered Newbourne and Waldringfield accidentally. Tuesday I discovered excellent cyclepaths through Martlesham, after missing a turning to Bucklesham. Today a quick 7 miler to the Sausage Shop and back to buy sausages. Other meat products are available I am told. We have (or at least I have) ridden approximately 406 miles since moving here.

I can’t seem to stay off my bikes. Even to the extent of meeting Kenn from hospital at 10.30 at night and exploring by Cateye. The silence of the Suffolk lanes is fantastic, the lack of light pollution is astounding. The other evening I spent 10 minutes just standing by my bike and looking at the millions and millions of stars in the night sky. There was no moon, just the clear blackness and the pinpoints of light making their amazing shapes in the sky. The night riding means that I see owls, bats and the occasional deer that dashes across the road and scares the daylights out of me but it’s not great for photographic opportunities. I am not lugging a 35mm SLR and a blooming tripod about with me.

I need to crack on and clean my chain as it’s not looking overly fabulous at the moment. That failing on me half way up a deserted road, in the pitch black, is not on my to do list. I’ll clean both the bike’s chains, my roadie is filthy after an adventure through some puddles earlier. Just waiting on Kenn to let me know what time to be at the hospital tonight. It’s windy out, the clouds are belting across the sky. Inland it will be less windy so I might well go and meet him. What’s another 11 miles when I have the dry weather to go out and play in. Better burn off that bit of French loaf. That’s my excuse and I am sticking to it.

I will make more of an effort to take pictures, blog a bit and generally stay in touch with the world, Dragons not withstanding.
R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 6 months since last blog and a lot has happened

  1. bribikes says:

    A good night ride under a beautiful sky is the best! I am glad you are blogging again!

  2. IMRH says:

    Your writing is as natural as ummm.. staying on a bike! Nice to see it back.

  3. IMRH says:

    PS Sorry, just a suggestion on camera and tripod, I take a Gorillapod SLR out in my trunk bag, you can mount that securely to the bike to use the camera on it with a remote or self timer.

    • 2nkenn says:

      I have been known to take a gorrillapod thing and my good compact, but my good compact has decided that it doesn’t want to play any more. I’ve got my DSLR Canon 550D, but it’s a PITA to cart around with me. I might look at getting a new ‘good’ compact. If I came off my bike and stuffed up the Canon, I’d probably cry for a month. Maybe 2.

Leave a Reply

