A little utility ride today. Less than 6 miles of riding around Felixstowe.

I needed to go to the bank to stick some money in and then I needed to pop up to the Blue Cross rehoming centre to give them some money as they very nicely said that I could take a greyhound collar and lead and come back the next day to pay for them. It wasn’t the next day, it was the day after, but we’ve given them the donation. Kenn popped in to ask about castration discounts (for the dog, not for himself) as our youngster needs neutering now. He’s 15 months so it’s time that he was done.

It was a bit fresh and windy out. Warmer than it looked but we could feel the wind getting up. The BBC said that it was going to be gusty, they weren’t wrong.

We are trying to use our bikes for little utility trips. We are far enough out of town to make it worth the change of shoes and locking up to pop in a shop is a bit safer here than in Norwich. Kenn is breaking in new tyres on his CX bikes. They are wide road tyres, 28mm. I had bought them for my CX bike but Kenn’s need is greater than mine at the moment. He seems to like them. He’s got Vittoria Pave CGs and rather likes them. We have something a bit tougher for when he wants to off road.

We are trying to get a dog walking business off the ground. New website up for Rambling Rose Dog Walking, new phone number and new adverts. Covering the local area means that we should be able to cycle to and fro, unless we are walking more than one household’s dog at a time or walking a client’s dog that is not near conveniently good walking, then we have a lovely large estate car, dog friendly, and super reliable. Between a bit of dog walking and a bit of admin at Norwich Guitar Academy, I can make a sensible sort of living without having to get a proper job and stuff my wrist up again.

This part-time work malarkey makes for more time with my bikes, my dogs and my guitar. I really don’t like it when the real world gets in the way of cycling. I am hoping for a good ride tomorrow night, weather permitting. There are wind warnings for the evening, 50mph gusts. I love riding but don’t want to die just to get a ride in. I might try and persuade Kenn to have a morning ride, before dialysis. I’m only 6 miles up on my monthly target. That’s pretty much unheard of for the middle of the month, this year. So far, it’s been a very good riding year.

Bike cleaning then. Poor Eric got a bit mucky out today. There were puddles.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

