The Metric Half Century a month challenge

Right, it’s up there for the world to see now. It’s a Cycle Chat thing that a chap called Colin started. The challenge is to ride either an Imperial or a Metric Century a month, or for us less die hard lot, an Imperial or a Metric Half Century a month. That’s one ride, not over the course of a month as even my Mother could do that and she’s been dead for well over a decade.

January was a bit of a wet month, for us but I did manage to get out and do a ride of 2 halves and get that magic 50km in. It was the 16th January and I went off with Kenn to do a nice 18 mile loop. I chatted to him about this challenge and he said he thought it a good idea and fancied it for himself too. I said fine and did he want to do it today. No, it seemed that the 16th was not a good day. 2nd ride of the year for him and he didn’t have the legs for it.
Once he was in from his 18 miles, he put lights on my bike, moved the repair kit to my bike, while I warmed my feet up a bit and swigged a quick mug of hot choc and off I went again. All without turning off my Garmin. I then disappeared of for another local ride, using some of the same roads that I’d just ridden on, which was a bit boring. I took Eric, my CX bike. I’d have been faster on the roadie but I have problems with punctures and have difficulty getting the tyres on and off the rim with my stupid hands. The problem with living on a peninsular I guess, is apart from the A14 duel carriageway with it’s lorries, there are limited routes out of the town.

Anyway, I got those 50km done, plus a little bit. Strava is here. It wasn’t too horrible either. I took my aftershokz and some music and that hour just flew.

Then, on the 28th, I got another 50km in. Strava here. I rode from Bentwaters at Rendlesham, the long route home on my CX. Dang good job I took Eric the CX as the route took me through Rendlesham Forest and I had to get off and walk at a couple of places, due to the mud. There were massive tractor tyre marks and I couldn’t ride over them. Even horses were picking their way around.
At Ipswich, the route brought me out on the A1214, where there are cyclepaths all the way along. Looking at the map, I could have just whipped up that hill to Martlesham but then I’d have had to have found another 5 miles, so glad that I didn’t. Also, I’m slightly allergic to hills at the moment. I could climb better in the summer, but so far this year, I’ve been really pants at it.
I had to ride around the block, when I got home, to put an extra .8 of a mile on the trip, to make that 50km up. That nearly killed me. My legs, over the last 5 miles, had clearly had enough but I told them to shut up. I turned my aftershoks up a bit, put some Eric Johnson on and told myself that I was enjoying the ride as much as I was enjoying Eric. Anyone who knows me, will tell you that I am obsessed with EJ’s music.
When I got in, and that 50km was done, I hardly had the strength to put my bike in the shower room to clean him off. A cup of tea was had first. I must do a gear service on him.

I rode the 30th too. Only a few miles as I just wanted to make sure I hit my January goal. I rode to the hospital to meet Kenn from dialysis. That nearly killed me too. So exhausted for some reason. I had 4 days off riding after that and got out last night, for a nice 14 miles, which was brilliant. A bit more tweaking on Eric the CX’s gears though. Just a smidge.

I was happily playing guitar yesterday before going out. We have Guthrie Govan coming to our little Guitar Academy, to do a Masterclass for our pupils. Very excited about that. We have another Masterclass in the year too. Not saying who that is just yet, but excited about that too.

I had better get on with some stuff now. I might ride a bit later, then again, I might not. I do have a 50km to do this month but it’s only the 4th and I have an extra day this month as well. I’m working on packing, it seems that the exciting move to the South is happening within the first quarter of this year. Now, we were not expecting that so saving like mad, packing some ‘non everyday’ stuff to give us a head start and have got some stuff to charity shops to make space for the packing. Whew. Bring it on then.
R

 

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

