The last ride in Felixstowe

Probably. I might meet Kenn from dialysis if the temperature doesn’t drop like a rock. The BBC say 3 degrees but I’ll need to check the puddles for iciness first. After falling off 3 weeks ago, while getting the February 50km challenge ride in, and battering myself, I am keen not to do that again, the day before we move house again.

Firstly today’s ride.
The sun was shining, there is virtually no wind at 5mph and it’s  a massive 7 degrees out and I had an errand to run, 2 miles or so up the road. I dropped the spare front and back door key off to the sister of the people we are swapping homes with. That took me up to Gulpher Road so I just carried on down the ‘quiet lane’, where bikes, pedestrians and horses have priority. It comes out at the road that goes off to Felixstowe Ferry so I decided that I had time to go down there and back. The road just goes to the Deben River and back again.

I could see lots of people walking along the sea wall and I decided to see if I could go on there with my bike. I was on Eric the CX so figured that if the terrain was not dead flat, that I was on the right bike. Getting to the footpath on the wall meant that I had to get off and walk for a few yards but it looked ok to ride on and there was a lack of ‘no cycling’ signs so I went for it.

The area has been unexplored by us, naturally on the last day of being here I have finally got around to having a look.

Taken from the sea wall looking back to Felixstowe Ferry, where I had just ridden from and looking forward and out to see, heading towards home.

There were a few people about and I was riding at about 9mph along there so I could slow down or stop if necessary. I did stop and walk for 50 yards or so where the shingle was deep on the byway. Going far to slowly to be able to ride through it.

There were a couple of lows left by the outgoign tide that looked really blue and inviting (way too chilly for a dip). The beach was around 8′ down from the sea wall. nice big steps to go down here but later, the sea wall narrowed and there was a sheer drop to the left hand side. The surface was horrible, lumpy and on the huh too, so I got off and walked along it. Definitely not taking the risk.

It doesn’t look much of a drop, my phone pictures don’t really do it justice. Trust me though, it’s not a level kerb stone. The wet bit – mid screen in the 1st pic – was slimey and slippery so it’s a place where run off, runs off daily. Green, nasty.

Not long after that, the sea wall stops and I shouldered the bike and zigzagged up the steps to a village of beach huts. Lots of lovely colours and designs in paint there. I found the path again and it came out on a place called Golf Road and then I rode home, down the hill and back on to the Promenade. Because it was sunny, it was busy but I couldn’t be bothered going up and over the hill. Way too lazy today.

Home sunset

This picture was taken a bit back but shows the Prom with the Cranes in the distance. It was lunch time when I got home, not evening sunset time. It’s a pretty place to ride home though.
Because of the rough seas yesterday, there was a lot of sand on the promenade itself, I got off and walked a couple of bits. Falling off is not on my to do list today.

Just 9 miles today in about 53 minutes so averaging 10mph or so. I wasn’t in a hurry really, but did need to get back to help with the final bits of packing. I might ride tonight, might not. Depends on the weather, how much cleaning I get done and how I’m feeling.

Tomorrow we collect a big van at 9am in Ipswich, load it up with all our belongings (dump run first though) and then head down to Wendy’s house in Exeter to have a sleep overnight. First thing Saturday Morning, we head off to near Bodmin, where our new flat is. Don’t know if we’ll see our swap partners. We are hoping that we are going to an empty flat, especially after the swap here with a swap partner who was only half packed and dead lazy.

We are really excited about this move. Finally the move from Inverness to Cornwall will be achieved. Yay. Riding on the Camel Trail is on the agenda very early on in the proceedings.

No internet for a week so updating will be sporadic, as ever.

Raff

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

