Cornwall! Finally here!

After the last ride in Felixstowe, a bit of exploring and saying goodbye to the roads that have served me well for the last 5 1/2 months. Not that I have seen many of them in daylight as most of my riding has been done at night. My Suffolk Sojourne has been a lot more night riding than day riding. The plan to stay for 18 months or so and then move South didn’t pan out as planned. The move a year early was an unexpected bonus. Not without it’s sacrifices and we didn’t have as much saved up for the move and work transitioning as we would have liked, but we are here and not starving to death.

The people we swapped homes with seemed lovely to start with but when things didn’t quite go their way, we got glimpses of their true colours until they were well and truly shown at the end of the process. Never mind, we don’t have to see them ever again.

We are spitting distance from the Camel Trail, just a hop and a skip and a jump away from an entry point. So far, since last Friday’s landing here, at 10pm, 3 rides have been managed. Well, the sun will keep on shining so we ignore the boxes and go out and play.

Sunday was our first ride. Saturday was taken up with unpacking and buying a sofa and dialysis. We decided, that as we had a lot to do on Sunday, that we would ride straight after dog walking and breakfast. We simply rode to Bodmin and back, on the CXs.

IMG_0416We took a short break on the way back. Kenn posed in his “Unaccustomed as I am to public speaking” stance for a picture. It was a nice 13 and a bit miles at a very slow 10mph average. We rode up to Topps Tiles in Bodmin, to see where we needed to turn for when we were to drop the van off the following morning. We decided that we were not taking time out of unpacking for a pleasure ride. No, it was research. Very important research. That’s our story and we are sticking to it.
We decided not to stop for a cuppa at the tea shop place. The queue was out of the door and the bikes were parked 3 deep along the edge of the trail. Anyway, we were 5 miles from home. Far too close to home to be stopping for a cuppa.

Monday morning was a similar ride, but only one way. We dropped our van off at the car hire place in Bodmin, jumped on our bikes, that had travelled in the back. It was a bit fresh, we had noticed when walking the dogs first thing at 6.30am. Kenn decided to take his winter Sealskinz gloves. I thought that was a bit OTT so I took my running gloves to wear under my fingerless riding mitts. I figured that Kenn would be regretting his choice of thick gloves once we got our legs turning.
After 3 miles my thumbs were totally numb, after 4 miles my forefingers were numb and after 5 miles my right hand was really cold and there may have been mutterances about my utter stupidity. My left hand, apart from the thumb and forefinger, was fine.
Apart from the cold hand, it was a cracking wee ride. 7.2 miles, give or take. No pictures as we forgot camera, phones, the lot.

Tuesday 15th.
Kenn was at dialysis and I thought that I would take the roadie for a quick spin but, Bluey the roadie is in the utility room and I would have had to have dug out Kenn’s CX, Kenn’s Boardman, several boxes and a curtain pole, to get to it. Then I’d have had to put everything back and it would have been dark by then. This was about 3pm ish. I took Eric the CX.
I decided to go along the Camel Trail and head off to Padstow. Last time I rode along there, it was rutted and a rough old trail, so I was pleasantly surprised that it was all tarmacked mostly, along there. There were a couple of bits that were more like my old school cinder running track, but nothing to get excited about.

As you can see, it was a gorgeous day. Far too nice to be unpacking boxes and doing indoor stuff. I’ll wait until it rains and do the rest of the unpacking then. I saw all sorts of shapes and sizes of bikes. Hire bikes with dog trailers seemed to be popular. I saw an adult tag-along bike. I’ve seen tag-alongs for kids but not adults. Several tandems, they look rather fun and I might consider hiring one, one of these days.
The surface was quite quick, so I could ride along at a reasonable pace, slowing for other trail users obviously. I averaged a good 13.5mph across the ride in the end.
I saw a chap up at Padstow who said “Oh Hello, nice to see you again”. I wondered who the heck he was as I didn’t know him at all. Then he said, “I saw you up near Bodmin Gaol the other day, with your Partner”. I must have looked perplexed and he said “I recognised your bike”. Ah, the frog green handlebar tape is a little leary and noticiable. We chatted for a bit but I wanted to get back to the dogs so bade him goodbye and headed on my way.
Great ride, I really enjoyed it.
Eric the CX feels a little weird at the moment though so he went off today, for a gear service. I can’t get to my bike stand, it’s in that utility room somewhere, and Kenn won’t just hold the bike up at working height for me to tweak the gears for some reason. The meany 🙂

Hoping for a ride tomorrow morning. I have to stay in for a phone call but will go out afterwards for a quick ride with Kenn and then might carry on a bit further afterwards, when I drop him off. Weather is due to change on Sunday so want to get some miles in while I can.

R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cornwall! Finally here!

  1. Pingback: Summer has arrived so taking the opportunity to ride before Winter sets in | bikingtofitness

Leave a Reply

