Lovely spin out to Lanhydrock for cake

We didn’t mean to go to Lanhydrock. We meant to go to Cardinham Woods and we will do, at some point. We went the wrong way, following the somewhat circuitous route, that Kenn’s gps decided to take us on. Garmins really do like to take you where they want to go. I no longer put routes in my Garmin, the bloody thing is posessed. I’ve called it Christine. Tried to take me up the A47 last year. It can record data and that is all I trust it with. Seems that Kenn’s trusty Garmin, is now starting to have a sense of humour.

We started off along the Camel Trail to Bodmin, uphill and down dale at Bodmin and Kenn was knocked off his bike by some twat in a blue Beemer. Twat missed me by millimeters. Neither of us got the reg number, beemer bloke was really shifting. Sadly, the burned out wreck of a car because he’d failed to get round the tight lefthander at the top of the hill turned out to be a pipe dream. He must know the road. Shame.

We didn’t go around the tight left hander but went straight on, up the NC3 road which took us along a lovely trail after a nice downhill, and over a bouncy bridge.

Nice pic of the trail that we’d just ridden up. I seem to recall that it was steeper than that pic looks. I must be hideously unfit! That bouncy bridge was a bit strange. It has that rubber mattingĀ  that they have in kids playgrounds, as surfacing. We stopped in the middle to look at the view (A30) and a lorry went underneath and it made the bridge wobble. We decided to get off the bridge.
We stayed following NC3, through the nice trail and then turned off to Lanhydrock, a NT place which is rather lovely.
IMG_0555 Here is Eric at the sign. Quite a clean Eric, you should see the state of him now. I’ll go and clean in a min.
By now, Kenn was getting peeved right off with the climbing, so I suggested a pootle around a trail here instead of going to Cardinham Woods. This seemed agreeable so we set off, had a quick explore of a Blue Route trail, decided against it as it might be fine for MTBs but not much of a laugh on CXs. My poor fillings nearly rattled out of my head.
We went down towards Bodmin Parkway rail station, then turned back up towards Lanhydrock House and Cafe.
IMG_0556
Nice little stream to sit and watch while Kenn caught me up, after hooning down the hill. 21mph probably not really hooning but, I thought it was pretty hoony, on trails that I don’t know.
We then followed the path along and up the hill.

The pic without the people is looking back to where I’d just ridden up. I waited for Kenn there. It’s a long old drag up there. Kenn got off and pushed. The pic with the people is looking towards the house and, most importantly, cafe.
We stopped at the cafe. Kenn was feeling the bravest, so he went in for 2 slices of lemon drizzle and a cup of coffee. I was expecting him to return ashen faced and considering a wonga loan to pay for it, but it was very reasonable. Next time we go, we’ll take flapjack and just grab a coffee. I forgot to get any flapjack (very cheap at Tesco) to take with us.

From there, we just retraced our wheel tracks back home again. We stayed on the NC3 for a bit longer, thus missing the road with the lunatic BMW driver. The gps didn’t route us up the NC in the first place for some reason. The hill was much shorter, but way steeper. I might have had to walk that!

Glad to get home, walk the dogs and put the kettle on. 440m oc climbing. Kenn isn’t speaking to me. Teehee.
https://www.strava.com/activities/535748419/segments/12909918835

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lovely spin out to Lanhydrock for cake

  1. bribikes says:

    Lovely pictures! What a bizarre bridge, but I must admit, I would love to ride on it, just to see what riding on playground equipment feels like, hehe

Leave a Reply

