New route today

Firstly, let me say, not that new. We still rode to Padstow on the Camel Trail, as that’s the way Kenn wanted to go. He suggested, that with my new pedals, a nice easy ride would be the way to break them in.

It’s true, I have new pedals. My old (not very old) pedals were Speedplay Zero pedals. Very very sexy things but a bugger to clip in to in a hurry. Despite copious amounts of dry lube and a fair bit of wiggling to losen the clip, they are still very hard work to clip into. My friend Simon, from the Tealandia Cycle Club – the club that I belong to – had sent the Zeros in the first place but said he had some light action jobs so he sent them along and they are a revelation. They click in, first time every time. Easy to clip out of too – the Zeros a doddle to clip out of but that spring needs more work for clipping in and, with the hills around here, I need all the help that I can get. I rode up a 12% today and had I been faffing with my pedal, I’d have been walking up a lot more of it than I did.

Anyway. The Camel Trail was heaving, as befits a nice sunny Saturday afternoon. People on hire bikes wobbling all over the road, folks with dogs on those extending flexi lead things (which I hate with a passion) all over the place, plus a few locals just trying to get somewhere, whether it’s work or just out of Wadebridge for a bit.

I stopped and took a pic of the sea, as it was several shades of blue but I don’t think my phone did it justice at all. Sorry, it’s on the huh a little. I was coughing and trying to get a shot inbetween grockles.

 

IMG_0586

View of Rock from the Padstow side of the Camel Trail

Into Padstow and we decided to come back by road. Hillier but probably safer, in the grand scheme of things. Off I went up the hill to the junction to the road to take us to Wadebridge and waited and waited. I took a pic while I was up there.IMG_0587

 

Not a great pic but you can see the sea. After a bit, when I could see that Kenn wasn’t coming up the hill, I rode back down to find him fixing his innertube. I handed over a pump and my Co2 canister and we were soon back on the road and up this hill again. We carried on climbing and climbing until we levelled off and came to a nice junction where we could go left to Wadebridge or straight on (route for busses, lorries etc) which I reckoned would be wider roads and probably a little flatter. I used the term ‘flatter’ in a general sort of way, this being Cornwall and all. Kenn chose left. I checked to see if he was sure, he was, so off we went towards St Izzy.

Quite narrow roads and some long climbs. I took a pic of the different bits of vegetation in the bush, for no other reason than I was waiting for Kenn to come along. One bit was steep and I overtook Kenn, who was stopping to walk and I was determined to make it to the road sign and then the next road sign, then my knee protested a lot, so I stopped and walked the 30 yards or so to a nice false flat and waited for Kenn. Managed to get up the rest of the hill without too much drama.
Got a nice pic of the wind farm with the dark clouds above. I must make more of an effort to take a decent camera out. My phone is all well and good but I do miss taking an SLR out with me from time to time. Nowhere really to put it on a roadie as I hate a rucksack with a passion.IMG_0590

Eventually, we joined the A39 – a bit busy for my likes but there you go – and rode down the hill to Wadebridge. I got on the cyclepath as Beemers with numpties in them, seeing how close that they can pass, is not my idea of a fun time really. Cyclepath, much safer and I could trunk into the showground to see what was going on at the car boot sale. I could see down the hill to Wadebridge too. The sun came out again, just at the right moment so you can see Bodmin Moor stretching out in the distance.

IMG_0591

Only a 14 mile ride, 348m of climing so Kenn was unhappy about the odd 340m of it 🙂 Bless him. I have suggested shifting a stone and getting some more rides in.

All in all, a nice ride. Maybe over to Rock, on the ferry and then ride home on the other side of the camel tomorrow. If I can get Kenn to agree to that. Those new pedals and cleats are epic and I just adore them. Kenn planning to take over the Zeros when he gets new shoes. He didn’t get on with the single sidedness of the Keo Looks he had (I loved them) and he has a bit more leg strength for clipping in – although I suspect, I have done all the hard work with them – but I think that he will really like them and I think that his tatty old knees will like them too.

R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

