There was sunshine and there was cake.

I call that a good day. I don’t know about you.

Today is my last day of freedom before rejoining the rat-race tomorrow with my new job for a large, international company. I won’t bore you with the details, but having jumped through hoops, I thought I’d take it and see what a j.o.b. is like, for the first time in 13 years or so.

Don’t get me wrong, running my own business is actual work but it’s not like being a wage slave. If I want an afternoon off, I have one. If I want to knock off early, start late, have an extended lunch or whatever, I can do that. Now I’m going to have to let someone dictate when I start, when I leave, when I can go to the loo, when I can have dinner etc. Oh dear Lord, having typed that out, I’m not sure that I’ll bother and I’ll crack on, knuckle down and make jewellery. I’ve depressed myself now.

It appeared that Kenn’s GPS was as flat as a pancake, so while he charged the poor thing up, we mucked out the shed. We also put the plants outside, we’ve grown then from seed and this is their first day outside. I’ll bring them in again tonight as I reckon that there will be a frost and they are too little to cope with it as yet. The plant sorting led to bird feeding which led to ‘oh my goodness, look at the state of the shed’ so I dragged everything out, gave the thing a sweep and had a bit of a re-organise. Having our Mark’s sack-barrow and ladder taking up a lot of space does not help but we’ve got everything back in and there is room for the recycling bags too, so they don’t make my mini front garden look such a tip.

Finally, Kenn’s GPS filled itself up and we got on the roadies and went up the the Snails Pace Cafe at Wenfordbridge. I can highly recommend their carrot cake, it’s lovely.IMG_0593
In case you are wondering about the cleat cover, my right shoe was just touching my crank from time to time and it was really annoying so Kenn just budged it up a bit. Only about 1mm but it was a lot better. The touching the crank thing wasn’t starting to get annoying after 12 miles of it at all. Noooo.

Having had a nice chat with a couple on nice MTBs a lady with a huge Northern Inuit dog, and a JRT. Nice wee thing. I thought it was just a huge white GSD but she said ‘no, a Northern Inuit’ Nice to be educated. I’ve never heard of one, let alone seen one. After 30+ years of being a dog groomer too. Bloody glad I didn’t have one of those on my table, the fluff vortex would have been epic.

Downhill all the way home, we stopped a couple of times to fuss Lurchers, wait for small children on trikes and whatnot to come by. Only one horse today, very surprised on such a nice afternoon. We got to the Ironbridge, about a mile and a half from home, and saw canoeists bobbing about in the water. The chap at the back had his dog with him. Dog had little life jacket on and everything.

OK so you can’t see the chap at the back,  with his dog, but he was there. The 2nd pic is pointing in the other direction. I thought it pretty with the light dancing about on the water. I took a pic of Kenn as well, as he was there and handy.
IMG_0596

Quite like that pic. Those shoes are nearly fit for the bin. We are praying that Lidl or Aldi are going to have a bike even soon. Might have to shop on fleabay at this rate.

We passed our flat and headed off to Lidl, Kenn said we were out of milk. Horror of horrors, my tea would have be be black tea and nobody wants that! He seemed to find hobnobs and tiger bread while he was at it. Yum. I did a quick loop around the little block as stopping at 24.89 miles was just daft. Is my OCD showing? Surely not.

https://www.strava.com/activities/548318243

 

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There was sunshine and there was cake.

  1. lexilife says:

    You live in such a beautiful place!! I am truly jealous. Cute about the dog with a life jacket on, the thought of it is making me all warm inside hehe. Great post and good job xx

    http://www.lexilife95.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

