Who thought it was a good idea to ride to Newquay then?

Firstly this morning, I changed my tyres on Eric, the CX. It’s near enough summer so he can have his knobblies off and some Vittoria Pave tyres on, until Autumn. He looks fab IMO. I’m very fond of Eric.

IMG_0608
With the route we had chosen, we felt that there would be a lot of hills and probably a fair bit of walking so recessed SPDs would be the way to go. We were not wrong.

The first bit, Camel Trail to Padstow, was nice and easy then we followed the cycleroute signs to the top of the hill. What a faff, it would have been easier to have gone the way with did last time. Up lots off faffy hills instead of one decent one. Heigh ho. We bobbed in at Tesco, at the top of the hill, to grab some cash for tea and cake, should some present itself en route.
We just followed the road along watching for signs for Newquay. We should have stayed off the coast road. Kenn had braking problems, which he discovered half way down a 16% hill. We stopped at the bottom and sorted them out. Some sort of fishing lake, with seats, so not too terrible.


Naturally, being at the bottom of a hill, it was mostly impossible to get back up the other side so we got off and walked. A bunch of roadies shot past, seemingly unfussed with the gradient. You can go off people. The picture of the hill does not do it justice. It was steep and long. My knee had a bit of a whinge about it. Sometimes I am reminded that I’m not getting any younger.

The hill down to Mawganporth was steep, the way up worse and lots of getting off and walking occured there. A couple more horrible hills and we were rewarded with a nice beach view, near the back of Newquay Airport.
IMG_0614

We chatted with a couple of holidaymakers there. They suggested Electric bikes. I suggested that I was 52 and not dead. It was a lovely veiw though. We stayed put there a while, the beach was nice to look at.
The last bit into Newquay itself was not too shoddy. We had hoped for a pasty or something but the Par train was in the station and we had 2 minutes to check that bikes were allowed on and to ask if we could get a ticket on the train. We could and sat on the train all the way to Roche. That 25 minutes of sitting down was lovely.

Roche Station is nice, little and we took a couple of shots while the GPS loaded up a route to Nanstallon. It said 4 miles. Kenn’s GPS lies.

The road to Nanstallon was nice, not too busy with a couple of climbs but they were just 1% long drags. A bit like Norfolk or Suffolk in that respect. We stopped a couple of times and looked at streams, waited for sheep to cross etc.

There were some nice views as we made our way downwards (mostly) to where we knew we could join the Camel Trail and ride the last 4.5 miles home on the flat. We were very happy to see the Camel. We stopped once on the trail as there was cattle in the field. Not seen them there before. They seemed quite curious about us too. One did, the others wandered off soon enough.

https://www.strava.com/activities/554448204
https://www.strava.com/activities/554448507

2 Stravas as I can’t find a pause on my Garmin, so I turned it off and on again. Something flatter tomorrow I reckon. Up to the Snails Pace and back, cake in the middle maybe?

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

