Bank Holiday lazy pootling about

I really wanted to ride today but then, I really couldn’t be bothered. A bout of depression has just not been funny. Riding generally helps but I seem to have the weight of the world on my shoulders at the moment. This new job malarkey, missing Norfolk a lot more than I thought I would and still feeling awful after having to give Billy-dog up. It’s been over 8 weeks now and I’m still getting weepy every time I think about it. Billy immediately went to a super new home, but that’s not the point. I miss him a lot.

This week I got a couple of 10 milers in and a 2 miler – yes really, it was windy!

Tuesday it was blowing a hooley so we rode a mile, thought ‘bugger this for a game of onions’ and turned back for a cuppa. Saturday we got a quick 10 miles up the trail towards Bodmin, and back. Sunday a quick 10 miles towards Padstow and back and today, Kenn was dialysing and I was at home, feeling sorry for myself.

I got the CX off the wall and decided to ride up towards Camelford. Nice sort of day, the BBC were right, it howled it down with rain all morning and lunch time but got nice about 3pm so I changed and got myself out of the door.

I had a nice ride and once on the trail, drafted an electric bike who had overtaken me, for a couple of miles, until his battery went flat and he had to do some pedalling.  I looked at the cows, as I passed them. Stopped and watched a buzzard for a while and then headed on again. At about 7.5 miles in to the ride, I got a visit from the puncture fairy so I hopped off and headed to a nearby seat and got the wheel off, noticed how filthy Eric had got,  and started fixing. It was a pretty area at least.

I was just swearing about my tyres – tricky to seat as they are the folding type and have a mind of their own most of the time – when a chap on a very nice Norco CX came along and helped me. I didn’t ask him, in fact I told him that I was fine, but he helped anyway. Once tyre had been inflated with my Co2 canister thing he dashed off (he seemed in a big hurry yet determined to help). That tyre went straight down again as his speed might have attributed to the pinch puncture.
I patched the original innertube, then changed the tube out again (alone and quite competently without rushing), then inflated with my pump – that counts as a workout, right? – patched the pinch punture. While I was packing away, a lady rode up and asked if I was OK and we got chatting. I decided to head back to Wadebridge and ride along with her for a while. She protested that she was very slow, but it was nice to have the company for a couple of miles. She headed towards Bodmin at the junction and I came home.

Only 15.25 miles today but better than nothing. It was a nice ride. I need some more patches and a couple of new innertubes. I’ll grab some in the bike shop in Truro tomorrow. I’ll get a price on some new Co2 canisters too. I’m planning on a trip home to Norwich at the weekend, I’ll take the roadie as he’s been sadly ignored since being here, and get a 40+ ride in.

https://www.strava.com/activities/563260969

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bank Holiday lazy pootling about

  1. bribikes says:

    Aside from the two flat tubes (this is what puzzles me, you just moved and the puncture fairy has already figured out your new stomping grounds, yikes!) it sounds like a wonderful ride! Best wishes to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

