Summer has arrived so taking the opportunity to ride before Winter sets in

It started off a gorgeous day and got more gorgous as the morning went on. We have chores to do but walking the dogs and then going for a ride took precidence.

We decided to ride up to the Snails Pace Cafe. We love it there, it’s totally off grid and powered by solar panels and has a composting loo. Brilliant place, if you are in the area, I heartily recommend a visit. Today we couldn’t decide between Pistachio cake and Carrot cake so we had both. Just one slice of each and then cut each slice in half.

IMG_0636.JPG
We’d already nibbled when I remembered to take the pic. Sorry about that. The coffee there, is always great and comes in the caffetiere thing with a big mug.

Anyway, running ahead of myself as per.
The sun was shining, there was only a slight breeze and we were really keen to get out for a ride. Had a bit of home ‘admin’ to sort first. Voting, popping to LBS for new innertube, glue-less patches and a couple of Co2 canisters. We also blagged an old chain from his bin as we have a bit of a project requiring old bike chains. Watch this space over the next few blogs and all will be revealed. Finally, sorted for the bikes and got out and riding. 1st ride in shorts too, proper shorts, not the 3/4 ones.

Once we were past the turning for Wenfordbridge, there is a gorgeous bit of trail where you can see the river in the valley. Today we stopped and went down and took some pics. Kenn has been down but I was in my MTB boots which are not conducive for walking down banks in, without breaking your neck. We took the bikes with us and had a nice chat with a couple down there playing with their dogs, and took a couple of pictures while we were at it.

The Spaniel was having a fantastic time, swimming about. The Yorkie cross was barking it’s head off and having a blast. Over to the right was a nice quiet Lab chasing his ball about, and not making a sound. Lovely dogs all.

After 5 mins or so, we plodded back up to the track and rode to the Cafe – see above. I did ask them if they had any seasonal work. They took name and contact details and asked what catering experience I have. I don’t have much but I’ve worked in a Bingo Hall Cafe, Norwich Union kitchens and have pub experience as well as a burger/hot dog place. None of it recent, which I was absolutely honest about. On the plus side, I can change a puncture, fettle gears and know about bikes generally. I’d really love to work there.

On the way back, we stopped to watch the cows, in a field. On the way there, they were tucked up the top end of the field but, on the way back, they were closer. Munching and mooing away, we noticed a spotty cow so took a pic of her.

IMG_0638

Heading back and close to home, I could see that I’d ridden 23.6 miles. As usual, I think that’s a daft place to stop (is my OCD showing?) so rode over the river – Actually I got off and walked as riding over the footbridge is frowned upon – and rode along to Egloshayle and then road back into Wadebridge from that side of the river. I still needed a quick ride past ours and back to make up the 25 miles, so I’ll go a bit further along the track at Egloshayle next time.

If anyone is interested, I have a Strava thing: https://www.strava.com/activities/566330238
I’m up on my monthly target by 20 miles or so but down on my annual target by 380 or so. Still, summer is here and long may it last. Riding in Norfolk this weekend. I’ll get a few miles in, on the flat. Can’t wait šŸ™‚ and really looking forward to seeing my friends.
R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

