Couple of short evening rides

Tuesday, after a very lazy Monday, recovering from 800 miles of driving and a 50 mile ride, I managed to get 16 miles or so ridden, home to Padstow and back, then rode up to Polgeel Wood on the Camel Trail and back from there, to make up the mileage a bit, as 11.5 miles is a stupid distance to stop at.

Today (Wednesday) I have been procrastinating all day about riding – I’ll just make some earrings, then I’ll just print and make some display cards, laundry, washing up, putting the bins out etc. Around 7, I fed the dogs, kicked myself up the bum – metaphorically speaking – and got the roadie out.

I decided to just ride to Padstow. I wasn’t in the mood to ride but my jeans were feeling tight so thought that I’d make an effort. I took my iPod, Aftershokz and a long sleeved top as it looked a bit cool out. I wasn’t wrong. The low cloud, that hadn’t lifted all day was a bit spooky and it was a tad chilly out there.

IMG_0673

As I approached the bridge, I could see the Wadbridge end of it but not the Padstow end at all.

IMG_0675

It was an eerie sort of quiet out there too, funny thing about the mist, is it deadens sound so my wheels sounded strange on the surface and I could hear some birds tweeting some distance off but they sounded distant and a bit muffled.

The bridge, as I crossed it, sounded very weird.

IMG_0676

Once properly at Padstow, there were a few kids playing on their skateborads and scooters in the car park, but other than that, deserted. On the way back, I looked over at the boats, bobbing about and they were just vanishing into the cloud.

IMG_0677

You could barely tell the water from the horizon and they just looked like they were in the middle of nothing. My phone doens’t really do the vision justice.

I passed ours, on the way back and just rode to the end of the road and back to make the mileage up to 12 and a bit, rather than just shy of 12 miles. Nice ride.

https://www.strava.com/activities/572918450

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Couple of short evening rides

  1. bribikes says:

    I love your photos of the fog. It is weird how a simple cloud can make even the most ordinary and familiar places seem strange and mysterious.

Leave a Reply

