Evening ride to the harbour

I haven’t ridden for days. I have not been feeling the love of cycling nor have I felt like riding up hills at all and the thought of riding along the trail is just tedious. I got out on Tuesday and rode to the bridge at Padstow and back with Kenn but haven’t been near either of my bikes since.

I have been walking and have had a couple of lovely walks with Toffee the Lurcher but have had a couple of duvet days with a hacking cough and feeling like hell as well. I was planning on riding yesterday but really couldn’t rouse myself and summon the effort required to get on my bike. Even not changing and riding in jeans and just bunging on my SPD shoes didn’t fill me with any enthusiasm. I was reasonably determined to ride today but not making any promises that I couldn’t make myself fulfill. Depression is a bugger.

Today I have been making bracelets from paracord and bits of old bike chain. I’ve been using the spacer ring things from between the chain links. They have turned out quite well. Apparently you can see the cord in the dark, it said so on the packet when I bought it.

Paracord1.JPG

I made another one out of bright yellow guy rope, that I found in Norwich when I was there for the weekend. I made it for me to keep as I rather like it.

Bouyed up by learning new things today, I grabbed the opportunity while I was all happy and feeling ‘up’, changed quickly and got out the roadie. I didn’t have much planned, just a ride up the trail to Padstow harbour and back.

The first bit of the trail was interesting. I called out ‘excuse me, passing on the left’ to a chap with a Bichon Frise dog (off lead) who then wandered right in front of me. I had already unclipped so could put my foot down quickly. The chap caught his dog, mentioned that I’d crept up on him silently – I hadn’t whispered – and I carried on riding, only to be chase by the dog. I stopped as it veered in front of my wheel, waited for the man to retrieve his dog and carried on again. The dang thing chased me again then twice more. You would have thought that the owner would have realised his dog was chasing and let me get up the trail a bit before releasing the daft thing.

After that, a lovely clear run to Padstow and on to the harbour. It was a lovely evening and there were lots of people milling about in the town so I went through at about 3mph with one foot unclipped. At the end I turned, was nearly taken out by a massive seagull who decided to fly right in front of my head to alight on an old Fiat Panda. I think I heard the car groan as the gull landed on it, it was a big gull.

IMG_0704

I rode slowly back through the town, getting off and walking past the one way bit where I was going in the wrong way.

There was a busker there who called out ‘you need some decent shoes’.
I called back ‘they are decent shoes, just not right good for walking in’. He laughed.

I then got to follow an elderly couple at 2mph through the car-park but I cut around the back a bit as they were doing the same speed on the road. I managed to overtake them by going up the other car-park and they then swung off the road and into that carpark having sped up considerably, missing me by inches and then going 2mph again. Numpties. I overtook them, then they revved past like they were in a hurry – heading towards the edge of the car park and open water, scattering kids on skateboards as they went, then kangeroo’d to a halt about an inch from a bollard. I think that they were going to drive up the Camel Trail. I suspect that they were tourists. Blind as a bat tourists.

I saw loads of other cyclists on the way back home. All on MTBs and all heading in the same direction as me. My shadow overtook them long before I got anywhere near them. Lots of pleasantries were exchanged as I passed them. I considered riding on a little further but decided, as I’d had a week of the lurgy, not to push my luck. 12 miles was plenty for me today.

https://www.strava.com/activities/584824000

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

