2017 already!

In the end I clocked up 1717 miles for 2016. Pretty pants really. I did get some riding in during December. The weather was quite mild and I managed to give myself a metaphorical kick up the bum.

Sadly the Oxford flat fell through so we are back perusing the home-swapper listings without much hope really. We’ve decided that we don’t mind where we go as long as it’s not as hilly as where we are now. We have been asked some daft questions in the last few weeks such as ‘how long have you lived here’ like that has anything to do with anything. Questions about the area, amenities, transport, parking etc are fine but how long we have been here, where we lived before and have we ever had any cats before seem somewhat irrelevant questions.

The week between Christmas and New Years Eve meant that I got on my bike for the equivalent of 30 minutes a day. I challenged myself to do that. I actually decided on a total of 3 hours & 30 minutes for the week and in 6 days managed 3 hours and 45 minutes and decided to start the next week on New Year’s Day, as it seemed like the thing to do. The 3 1/2 hour thing was so pleasing to me that I decided to do it again for the first week in January. It seemed like a plan anyway. It’s been very successful for me. Mentally, I can cope with the thought of just half an hour a day with my arse in the saddle. Kenn has embraced this too for his non-dialysis days. His challenge was for 2 hours across the week.

The week went thus:
New Years Day. 11.03 miles to Padstow and back in a smidge over an hour. that was me half an hour up on the challenge already.
2nd Jan: 6 miles in 35 minutes with 110m of climbing. I have decided to get my big-girl-pants on and get some climbing done as I am bored to tears with the trail.
3rd Jan: 20.26 miles in 2 hours and 20 minutes on the Coast to Coast from Portreath, with Kenn in about 3 degrees C. We took it very steadily as it’s pace that does for Kenn and not time. Even so, we did the last 5 miles a bit more quickly as it’s slightly downhill and I was pretty bored with 7.5mph to be frank.
4th Jan: Day off as our kit was in the wash
5th Jan: 10.14 in 50 minutes with Kenn. He stopped at the quarry and I carried on to the bridge and back to get my mileage into double figures again. Anyway, I felt great.
6th Jan. I decided to try another slightly hilly route and rode out past Egloshayle, left up the A389 and up the hill to the roundabout at the top of Govenna and then carried on along the A39, which was a bit hairy. I stopped at the big bridge and took a pic and then slogged up the Cat 4 hill to the roundabout at the top of Wadebridge. I took a country lane home and actually walked down part of the hill as it was so skiddy with the mud and the 18% drop and bends. A couple of cars had roared up and I didn’t feel overly safe on that road. 6.3 miles in 35 mins or so.
7th Jan. Just up the Camel Trail to the quarry area and back, with Kenn so nice and steady. 6.3 miles again in 32 and a bit mins.

My total for the first week was a smidge over 60 miles and nearly 6 hours so well over my target and very pleased.

I took a pic from the big bridge, in the grey and miserable weather.
view-from-the-bridge
There have been a couple of suicides off here of late. While I was photographing, a car stopped and the passenger asked if I was OK, which was nice of them. I assured them that I was just out for a ride and wanting to take a pic.

Anyway. The week of Jan 8th to Jan 14th, my plan is 3 hours and 30 minutes for the week. I’m not stipulating 30 mins a day as the weather report is not amazing for the coming week.

I have got 2000 miles on my target clock for the year. If I can move from Cornwall, that might well be raised. I just cannot stand the hills and am going to do everything in my power to move. I think that moving here was a horrible mistake really and I don’t think that, after all the financial trauma that we’ve had, Cornwall likes us. Since moving here, getting a job and saving where we can, we are actually worse off. This is such an expensive place to live. We are going to go.

See you in a week for ride reports. I’ve got a plan to blog more often too. We’ll see how that goes.
Raffie

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2017 already!

  1. Cornwall is certainly beautiful, but like you say VERY hilly for cyclists and also not the easiest place to find good work. Shame really. I hope you find somewhere that agrees with you both! Keep those pedals turning! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

