Week 2 of the 30 minute challenge…

…… Didn’t go as well as I planned.

It was very windy last week. 28mph winds with gusts of up to about 45mph and I didn’t fancy it much. There was pouring rain on the milder days and temps of below 3 degrees on not wet days all accompanied by howling wind. On one of the days I did consider going out – milder than normal and not raining – I was nearly blown over on my way to the shop and my watering can, which was full of water, got blown across to the bus terminus. When I went off to retrieve it, I was overtaken by my own bin with it’s half breeze block in the bottom, so I fetched that back while I was over there. Cycling didn’t happen.

I did get out a few times though.
Monday 9th I did a quick 6.75 miles in a smidge over half an hour. Through the wind and rain.
Tuesday 10th, I managed 12 miles in an hour and 5 minutes, more wind, and I was frozen stiff even with thermals and my winter boots on.
Thursday 12, I rode 6.66 in just over half an hour. I battered into the wind one way and zoomed back the other, with the wind at my back.

Friday, Saturday and Sunday the weather was just vile. Even the dogs didn’t want to go out in it.

I started a new week on Monday 16th.

On the house moving front, since last posting we have been contacted by a chap with a bungalow in Lincolnshire who really wants our flat. We had to speak to his landlord and housing officer as we are 2 years too young for the bungalow. However, renal failure counts as a medical need. The bungalow chap is a cyclist and is coming to view here in 2 days time. Very excited as he is bringing the exchange paperwork from his end. I think it might well be a done deal as he is coming to see the area rather than the flat. Not counting chickens though. He might hate the place, but I hope not. The rooms are about the same size as his and I’ve emailed him all the flat measurements and as many photos as feasible. We do have everything crossed as a life in the flatlands would be marvellous, again. I have barely ridden my roadie this year.

The bikes went in for brake services the other day. I’ve been having a couple of issues with my rear brake as the lever seemed to be too stiff to move. There was some grit in the cabling somewhere. All sorted now with new cables. Both of the CX bikes have a ton of wear left on the brake pads too, so that’s one less thing to worry about.

Onwards with the new week then. The weather is much improved so far, but it’s only Tuesday so anything could happen.

R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

