The end of the 3rd week of my 30 minutes a day challenge.

Well, this week has been a whole lot better. The weather has been cold – not altogether unexpected in during January, in England though – but no wind to speak of and no rain either. Well, not much and not at riding time, which is the main thing.

Monday was just little old me, out on my CX, Eric. Just up to Padstow and then back via Polmorla road and back to make up some time. Nothing exciting at all. I did stop for a natter with some tourists at the quarry area, on the way back. They were planning on upgrading their 10 speed cassettes and their LBS has quoted a couple of hundred quid each. I nearly fell in the Camel with the shock. I asked if they had a cassette tool in their bike tool kit, which they did. I suggested looking on Wiggle, buying a cassette and doing it themselves. A 10 speed Shimano cassette is only about £45 for an Ultegra one. I think that they are going to have a go. £200 each! I also suggested a different LBS. I think that they were quite new to this cycling lark.

Tuesday was nice too. Just a gentle pootle to Padstow and back with Kenn. Nice and steady and getting our feet cold. Well, mine were OK, his were cold for some reason. It was 7 degrees C out there so not frosty.

Wednesday was my day off so I rode a quick 10 miles to Padstow Bridge and back. Again, I stopped at quarry to look at the view and chat with other cyclists. There were hundreds of birdwatchers out on the trail today. Literally hundreds of them. I guess a rare bird must have been spotted or something. People with monopods with lenses trained out over the water. They looked cold if you ask me. Got home with minimal mud on Eric too, so that was a bonus.

Thursday was ‘the visit’ from the potential homeswap partner. He duly turned up, we chatted about bikes and gave him the tuppenny tour while swigging coffee. We swapped paperwork and put ours in to the Council while he drove 330 miles back home again. His paperwork went in Friday morning. Naturally, we have both taken copies and have put them safe for when one of the landlords lose the forms. It always happens.
Friday was off too as I was not feeling myself and my sciatica was playing up a smidge.

I managed to get Kenn out on Saturday. Padstow again. Just to the carpark where the diggers are, and back again. I was a smidge short of the hour so rode on a little on the ‘towards Bodmin’ side of the trail. Just to the river bridge and back, so an extra couple of miles to take me over a 20km ride. As you do.

Today, Sunday, was the best ride. We left it to about 3, when the sun came out, the drizzle stopped and it got warm – for January – it was very nice. We got the bikes out and decided to ride up to Nanstallon. Much muddier but I am bored to tears with going to Padstow and Kenn is not in a frame of mind to think about doing any climbing whatsoever today. At Nanstallon gates we turned around by the tea shop that we have never been in. We are unlikely to either, it’s only 4 miles from home.
As I was turning Kenn was visited by a Robin on his handlebars. I was not quick enough with my camera. I was quick enough to snap him when he hopped onto my back wheel though.
16142595_1208595215915276_7822242583530390132_n

It was tricky but I just turned my phone upside down so I could poke the button with minimal fuss and thought I’d just sort the orientation later.

Master Robin (he looks young to me) then hopped off and went to visit Kenn again.
16195933_1208595225915275_5364806164303877763_n

Not the greatest pictures but I only had a phone on me and I’d zoomed in a little, which was probably a mistake.
We then rode home again and hosed the bikes off. It’s the dirtiest they have been all week.

This week’s scores on the doors was 4:43:18 on the bike and covered 57.41 miles. I was an hour and a quarter over target, but that’s OK. Same again next week, but I expect that the weather is going to change again. Freezing fog has been forecast. Joy.

Onwards then.
R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

