End of week 4 of the biking challenge

The weather had been quite kind to me this week and I’ve got some riding done and I’m quite pleased with myself.

On Monday, I deliberately kept the time and mileage low as I knew that I wanted to get a good ride in for Tuesday and didn’t want tired legs. The sun was shining and it was a great day and I really wanted to go further but restrained myself and turned for home, so a nice little 7.33 miles in 33 minutes was done and dusted

Tuesday was my planned 50km for January ride. I’ve not been fit enough so far this month and I really want to ride a 50km ride every month this year. Last year was fine until November. The weather closed in and I just didn’t get the chance with the wind, rain and – on the rare nice days – being at work (typical). Kenn came and we took the CXs up to Wenfordbridge, to the Snails Pace Cafe, which is on it’s winter break and we knew this so took squash, fruit and a sandwich with us. We had 15 minutes at their picnic tables, watching the birdlife and looking at how the housebuild opposite the car park is coming along and then got back on our bikes.
The terrain was interesting as it’s predominantly mud at that end, clay mud at that so it sucks at your wheels and makes life very hard work. Much harder than road riding but there is very little in the way of flat around here so it’s the trails or forget it at my current level of fitness. I left Kenn in Wadebridge and cleared off up the trail a bit towards Padstow, got about half way along and turned for home to complete my 50km for the month. By the time I’d got home, Kenn had sluiced his bike off and the shower room was ready for mine. Good job too.

Wednesday and Thursday were both non-riding days. The weather was iffy, very windy and I just didn’t fancy it. Friday was less windy so I got a ride in to Padstow and back – I just couldn’t be dealing with hills or mud as my knees were making their presence known. It’s the weather for them to play up. I can’t take anti-inflammatory tablets as I was a live kidney donor so only have the one kidney. Wish I’d known about the not taking anti-inflams for pain and arthritis before I donated. The hospital failed to mention that bit.

Saturday, I was at work but keen to get a ride in as I was determined to hit 200 miles for the month. It stopped raining so off we went, Kenn and I. We got to the 5km mark and turned for home into a torrential rain and hail shower. I say shower, it lasted for the entire ride back . For some reason, we couldn’t stop giggling about it as we rode through the dark and stormy night :D. Once home, we totted up the mileage and it came to 199.86 miles. The word ‘arse’ might have been used.

Sunday. Hmm. I’d seen the forecast for Monday & Tuesday and it was Marti Pellow weather (Wet Wet Wet for those who might be under 40) so I took the opportunity to get out in the light drizzle on Sunday night. I’d been putting it off and off as I watched the rain fall all afternoon but I managed to get just over 10.5 miles in so that took me to 210 miles for the month so far.

So, week 4 brought me 67.28 miles for the whole week and 5:37:56 in the saddle. I was pleased with that. More of the same for week 5, I hope. Looking for 30 mins a day average across the week. The weather is grim though so I’ll see what I can do.

 

R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

