Weeks 6 to 8 of the winter challenge

I have had a few computer issues that are now sorted. I’ve also had work getting in the way, which was a right pain.

Week 6. (6 – 12 Feb)
5hrs & 42 minutes and 67.53 miles ridden.

I got a really nice 50km in on the 10th as I had an unexpected day off. Riding was a bit hit and miss with work and whatnot, but I did manage to get out. The fact that I needed a new chain and cassette was really showing on poor Eric and gear changing was clunky at best. I was mostly riding on the trail, which is as boring as anything.

Week 7 (13 – 19 Feb)
2 hours, 57 minutes and 14 seconds and a paltry 36.21 miles of riding.

It was half term and I was working my socks off. My Moon Light had packed up and refused to charge so it was sent off to Hong Kong to be fixed and I got a new light, a Lezyne 400 or something. Total pants, it ran out of battery after 10 miles despite being fully charged, so I got to ride home in darkness on the trail, lit by only my frog light. I did a new bit that day too. I rode off up towards Egloshayle and then up the A road hill to Gonvena and then down the hill before going up the trail. I did similar on the Saturday night with another new light (the Lezyne went back for an exchange), a no name brand job which also left me in darkness after about 18 miles so the last 3 miles home were lit by my spare light. Can’t wait for my Moon to come back.
I had a bit of a cold and a hacking cough, which didn’t help matters at all.

Week 8 (20 – 26 Feb)
4hrs, 5 mins & 48 seconds and 51.19 miles

A bit of a better week. No riding with Kenn at all as he was still ill. The weather was horrendous. Marti Pellow weather all week. (Wet Wet Wet for those under 40). I got soaked most days over the 5 days that I rode. I didn’t ride over the weekend as the weather was filthy and I was working and doing so much walking that I just didn’t have the energy.

A few signs of spring were starting to show. The gorse was clothed in yellow flowers and there were a few brave primroses sticking their heads out of the earth. Better weather must be around the corner. Storm Doris meant that I had to rehang the gate again, rescue the bin again and be a bit picky and do a couple of one way routes, again. But it was mostly good.

 

Eric had his new cassette and chain plus a full service on 28th Feb. 12-32 cassette so I’m looking forward (kind of) to trying out a couple more hills soon. My knees are not happy at the moment so taking it easy.

February’s challenge of 14 hours was smashed a bit. 17 hours and change and 200+ miles so I was pleased with that. March is still going to be 30 minutes a day as I’m a bit wobbly. Our homeswap fell through with 3 weeks to go. They were really keen and then, all of a sudden they just changed their mind, so we are back looking for an exchange. That’s 2 exchanges that have crashed and burned in 3 months. A bit fed up but we are going to look at a place near Iffley Lock next week. It’s going to be a wet day so a good day to miss a ride.

16939197_1245730692201728_5343001705431273881_n

R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

