Lots of riding has occurred

Since last posting there has been much riding. It was only just over a week ago and I have spent a fair bit of time with a bike under my bum.

My ride buddy has been away on his hols so I have been riding alone, which is fine as I have new Aftershokz Bluez 2s’ headphones. The old Aftershokz half died. The left speaker died anyway. I have linked to the wiggle site, but I didn’t pay that for them, mine were cheaper. They are also Kawasaki green and black. I like them. Smaller and a little weightier than my old Bluez but they feel a more solid product. My old Shokz lasted nearly 3 years so I was very happy with them. These are better as they sit flatter behind my ears and don’t make them poke out at all. Anyway, needing to try them out means tha I have to go out.
Last week I cleared off to Norwich to see my friends. Haircut, coffee, biscuits, more coffee (the Virgin Lounge is an excellent place to go, and the drinks are free. Kind of Club Tropicana for banking). There was much chatting and laughter. Bit of crying, more laughter, wine and pizza. I stayed over at my friend Jaide’s place and brought home a tomato plant that we have called Jody. It’s tall and strong, just like her husband, Jody, hence the name. Should get about 20 tomatoes from him.

I got a nice 50 miler in on Thursday last. Getting chatted up seems to be an occupational hazard when riding in lycra. It’s just so darn comfy but I think I’m going to start wearing a baggy tee-shirt over my top. It’s getting annoying. I don’t get this crap when riding with ride buddy. When I was fatter, I didn’t have this problem. I just don’t want to be fatter so it’s either a big tee shirt or I do the whole ‘suck it up buttercup’ thing.
I rode 32 miles on Friday. I didn’t want to go that far but I didn’t want to be in the house either. I got to the 28 mile mark and was knackered but I was not coming in at just under the 50km mark, having ridden that far already. Nope, nope and thrice nope.

I had planned to have Saturday off but it was a nice day so I hopped off for a little bit of a ride on some rolling terrain. Just 16 miles but that will do. Sunday was also an off day so I did a quick 10 and done with as I’d seen the forecast for Monday (yesterday) and it was Marti Pellow weather (that’s Wet Wet Wet for those who don’t know).

It wasn’t that bad after all. A light shower on the way to Woodhall and then a small, light shower over the river while we were riding. I was late home and I had forgotten my lights – rookie mistake right there – but I did watch the sunset, which is why I was late home.
100717 sunset

I thought that it was pretty. I love the colours and the reflections on the water. Ride buddy has a more up to date iPhone than I have and can do more on site photo editing. I really need to ask him to teach me things with my phone. I might ask tonight as it’s going to pour down. I suspect that riding might be suspended for a trip out for a coke or a coffee.

On the home front, 2n is off into a flat of his own, hopefully this weekend. If no viewing forthcoming today, I shall take him for a drive past this afternoon. Then he can see. It’s a 1st floor place in a purpose built house for over 55s or just unders with a medical condition. He can’t take the dog but I will look after Dylan for him. I’ve got Toffee, so one more is not a problem. I would rather have just the one dog but not about to be jettisoning hounds any time soon. I have a new job so a fresh start is happening. I find that I am so excited that I am bouncing about like a teenager, my thoughts leap from place to place and then fall out of my head altogether. More meditation required I think. I shall do that before 2n gets home from hospital and ride buddy starts texting. He normally has a bit of a text fest at around noon – his lunchtime but nobody elses though.

Onwards then. Let’s see what life is going to bring.

R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

