2 rides, different bikes

I decided that enough was enough and I needed to get out on my bike. Kenn was at dialysis as is usual on a Tuesday, the sun was shining and although the temp was below 5 degrees, I decided to go for a ride. I got the Giant Defy out and got pedalling.

To start with I followed the Carleton Forehoe route, then turned left to Wymondham and then left again up Youngmans Road. Hmmm,  a bit more potholey than I remember so I slowly navigated around them as I am a bit fond of my Axium wheels, especially as I didn’t have to pay for them – nicked of Kenn’s bike. Once at the top, I turned right until the junction with Melton Road and then turned left and carried on until Pockthorpe Road and then home as usual. Along the Melton Road is a slight rise, its not a hill, just a rise and it nearly killed me. I have never noticed it before so it goes to show just how unfit I am. Added to that, I was cycling into a headwind all the way along Melton Road, which didn’t help and I was wondering if there is any chance of regaining any fitness bearing in mind I felt so slow and geriatric. I am sure that I will though, as remote a chance as it currently seems.

To be fair, I have had the flu, I have just got over a filthy cold added to the fact that I fell over 2 weeks ago and bashed both my knees, badly grazed both hands and smacked my head a good’un. I was a bit dazed by that fall and the bruising to my knees, not the mention the swelling on my right knee and forehead, was spectacular. Over the last 1/2 mile or so, I really noticed that my right knee was hurting rather more than I expected it too so I didn’t make much of an effort up bloomin’ Barford hill to home. I was mightily glad to be up it though and then onwards down the track to home.

Just 8.67 miles and averaged only 10.56mph but I was happy with that.

Today I went out for another ride. I didn’t ride yesterday, my achilles tendon was tight all day and I have a history with that tiny bit of tendon, going back 13 years and I don’t want to be back under the knife with it. I wasn’t sure if I was going to ride today as it was a tad windy here today and for once, I can’t blame the dog. It has been overcast and its been trying to snow today as well but, on the way home from dropping Kenn at dialysis – finally – the sun came out and the sky looked pretty and blue.
Having had a bloody awful afternoon, hanging around the hospital for an appointment that didn’t materialise, wasting my time and meaning that I had to pay someone else to do my job this afternoon,  I decided to take it out on the bike. I took my Specialized Hardrock and rode down to the village, nipped past the church and onto the big wide path that serves a multitude of purposes. I have seen bikes, dog walkers, joggers and horses using it so I guessed that it was OK to cycle down.
I got off at the edge of the golf course, where the path crosses it and pushed my bike for 200 yards or so until I was back on the non-golf course path and followed it a bit further. I then took the right hand track, to see where it went and after 1/2 mile or so I got off and walked again as I appeared to be crossing someone’s side garden even though it was a marked trail. I thought that it would be a bit rude to cycle over it. A chap in the garden thanked me for walking and not churning up his land,which was nice. Through the big gate (not over the style with the overhanging holly bush, ta very much) and found myself at the bottom of a hill which went up in both directions, and I decided to go left, away from home. I was still feeling a bit miffed so wanted to keep going.

That bloomin’ hill caught me out. I had to use the old “oh what a lovely view, I’ll stand and look at it” ruse while I got my breath back. It never used to be that steep, I’ve cycled up it loads of times on both my Giant and the Spesh, someone has pumped it up, I am sure of it. Going up and into the wind probably didn’t help my unfitness either. Once up the hill, that never seemed to end, I carried on, hooked a right at Marlingford road and went past the new homes being built that I hope to be able to bid on in a few weeks (local homes for local people) and found myself on the back road to home. Feeling a bit tired by now I decided to head up the hill to home.

It was only 6.35 miles and took me 45 minutes, which is shocking. I now have a nice cuppa and am in no doubt that I need to take the Spesh in for a service.

The rides    : 15.02

Max speed      : 20.13

Ave speed      : 10mph

Total miles    : 66.33

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. I have a job, a flat, a dog and a couple of bikes. I live in the flatlands. I am in a reasonable state of fitness. I am not ruling out a house move, in the near future. I might head home some day. I am not sure that 'here' suits me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment